BLOGGING U – WRITING 101 DAY 4

DAY FOUR;  SERIALLY LOST

Yes, I am posting the Day Four assignment before I have done Day Three.  I am having difficulty deciding which songs I want to showcase in the commit to writing assignment.

Day Four’s Prompt: Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more.

This is to be the first of three connected posts, I therefore chose to resurrect a sonnet I wrote a number of years ago while taking classes at the Alexandria Writers’ Centre Society in Calgary.  I hope you don’t mind.  I plan to create two new posts in response to the serial aspect of the assignment when those segments are presented.

For Maggie

Bonnie Magnificent, Puppy Galore,

Teddy bear Beardie  –  not up to standard.

Picking you out of the litter – not hard!

Hide your fright. Deeper in my coat you bore

.

Looking for love  – giving me much more.

With your wizard eyes, the soul of a bard

Touching my heart made loving you –  not hard!

Seasons grow, mature and seasons expire.

 .

A dark sun fell from the sky and stayed

Clouded your sharp bright eyes, silenced your song

Menacing tribulations set you free.

From six years of Addison’s – you – so brave

 .

My heart reveals a hole –  Maggie-dog long.

Still you teach me from beneath the pear tree

 .

Cheryle Baker        Jan 26/ 06 edited  Feb 2/06       Petrarchan Sonnet

Leave a comment